This Year

There is a lot I want to do this year.

I want to makeover this boring looking blog and intend to do so over the next few months (stay tuned). I want to be more consistent and frequent with my blogging. I want to learn at least two solid songs on the piano. I want to get involved somehow with The Cookery. I want to make focaccia, homemade ravioli, successfully poach eggs, make soufflé, english muffins (among many other things).

This month has been spent playing catch up. Re-adjusting to living back in N.C, taking care of mundane adult nonsense, and securing new work. I just landed a baking job with a wonderful bakery in Durham, called Scratch, that I’ve been dying to work at and I am excited to be surrounded by people who are as big of fools for food as I am. In addition, I’m trying to find some supplemental work and some freelance writing and am eager to see what pans out.

I  do miss New York. I miss exploring the city on foot, solo and walking everywhere, taking it all in. I miss the endless plethora of amazing restaurants at my fingertips. I miss the subway music at the Metropolitan/Lorimer stop. I miss the view of the East River, from Greenpoint. I miss  The Blue Stove and The Brooklyn Flea. But mostly I miss my friends. Things are really good here though and I am finding my footing again, as I begin to navigate through this new year.

It’s been wonderful to have our kitchen back—a clean and functional one that I can actually cook and bake in! So I’ve been cooking and baking up a storm and it feels good. One of the things I’ve been doing lately (that is neither cooking nor baking) is making smoothies and sneaking fruits and veggies in them so I make sure I’m getting enough and lo and behold, I actually made one with kale and I loved it! I was always skeptical about drinking anything with kale or spinach in it but decided I needed to see what all the fuss was about and sure enough, if you put other yummy things in there, you can get away with it! I came up with this smoothie combo after having some leftover purple kale and it is the most gorgeous drink! It makes for a great afternoon snack or healthy breakfast.

Winter Purple Kale and Berry Smoothie

1 cup torn purple kale, packed

1 cup frozen mixed berries (if using fresh, add a few ice cubes to the smoothie)

2 splashes of juice (I use orange but berry, grape or cherry would work nice)

3/4 cup of plain, nonfat Greek yogurt

1 TBS agave nectar (or honey)

optional: 1 TBS ground flax seed

Combine ingredients in a blender, blend well and sip to your heart’s content!

1 Comment

Filed under Beverages

One response to “This Year

  1. Daddy Waddy Papa Bear

    Tina and I are into making smoothies of late. Will have to try this one. The fruit juices easily mask the bitterness of the greens.

    Hope you’re liking Scratch — bad hours and long commute notwithstanding.

Leave a Reply

