Where to Begin

I have had a full summer.  Full of travel and airports and trains, packing and unpacking, I’ve practically become a regular.  It’s funny though, airports used to be places I loved.  They represented the excitement of putting your daily life on hold to venture off to something and somewhere new and interesting.  But as I get older and travel more and more, I’ve become more attuned to the security hassle, costly baggage check, convoluted terminal hunt, flight delay, middle seat, screaming children one is forced to deal with in airports and on airplanes.  Being more attuned makes for annoyance in this case, and the air travel process becomes monotonous.  I still love the travel part tremendously, just not the means it takes to get there.  I’m craving a road trip.

But summer for me has also meant buttery corn on the cob, so sweet it could give you a cavity, peaches (my starring fruit of summer, that I could never tire of) and baby herirloom tomatoes that explode with juicy color when you bite into them.  I’ve been to Seattle, Portland, Freeport and Bar Harbor, Maine, Miami, Europe and to Bar Harbor again.  My latest trip – a brief stint in Bar Harbor for an extended weekend was a little bittersweet for me because I was happy to be there but sad to know that it was the last destination on my list of summer travels.

I also witnessed the rapid unraveling of a bakery I loved greatly.  I sold the last few loaves of bread and repeatedly told customers the news with a heavy heart on our last day.  Watching something once so successful cease to exist is a hard thing to do, especially when it means so much to people.  It truly was an important, affectionately revered part of the community and it was heartbreaking to see it fail and for reasons that could have been prevented.  I’ll dearly miss the majority of the Saturday morning “regulars,” who became an extension of family for me and hope I’ll still get to see some of them around.

But now the weather has shifted even if just for a few days and fall is boldly nudging this unforgivably hot summer away.  Apparently next week will stubbornly climb back into the 80s but we’re oh so close.  It’s my favorite time of year.  I’m always at my most nostalgic and I get in touch with my inner bear, as there is something so comforting about hunkering down for awhile.  I love how the air smells distinguishably different, the leaves turning colors, the slow-cooked meals that are the pure embodiment of fall and sock weather.  Sock weather makes me so very happy.

I also love fall fashion.  Toggle coats, tights and boots, scarves and cardigans – over-sized electric pumpkin colored vintage grandpa sweaters to be exact!  The boyfriend may protest that one but I quite like it.

And you know how when one season ends and another begins, you retire the past season’s clothes (for the most part)?  Well I love how those clothes smell.  They’ve been patiently waiting on closet shelves and in dresser drawers, to be worn again and they smell of faded laundry detergent and memories.

Last night we curled up in our socks and sweaters and roasted a whole chicken.  I made Sara Foster’s Rosemary Caramelized Parsnips, which definitively means it is now fall.  The aromas of piney rosemary, apple and thyme permeated the house.  I’ve made those parsnip fries so many times over the last few years and must say they are my favorite thing to make during the fall and if I could nominate a single recipe to symbolize the season, rosemary caramelized parsnips would be it.  I’m also welcoming the chance to use rosemary again in my cooking, since I didn’t touch it at all over the summer.  I’ve always associated it with cooler weather and even though my trailing rosemary plant has crept in length, begging to be used, I’ve ignored it.  But now, it is certainly rosemary and sock season.

So here is what I’ve been listening to lately (a lot of covers):

  • Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow) – Bon Iver
  • Come Talk to Me – Bon Iver
  • Dance Me to the End of Love – The Civil Wars
  • Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael
  • Southern Pacifica – Josh Ritter
  • Almanac – The Acorn
  • I Won’t Back Down – Dawn Landes
  • In a Manner of Speaking – Nouvelle Vague
  • Used to Be – Henry Wolfe
  • The Joy the Baker Podcast (which is addicting because it’s sometimes awkward, totally goofy girl talk, it makes me laugh and it reminds me of two best friends just goofing around).  It’s kind of like comfort food for my ears.

This video: 

I’ve been obsessed with this movie which I had the pleasure of seeing with my good friend Molly.  (Thank you Philly for giving me Molly back, even if just for a few months)!  Brit Marling is truly gorgeous and ridiculously talented.  She radiates and you don’t think for a second she’s acting, she makes it look effortless.  For me, that’s the mark of a real actor.  She’s the real deal and I have a major girl crush on her.  Another Earth treads the line between reality and scifi but it’s artfully done in such a naked, humble way that makes it totally realistic.  It’s not so much about the sci-fi elements but rather the valid question of a duplicate earth and cosmic symmetry and forces the question: what would you do if you were forced to really confront yourself?   I’m fascinated by its concept and it’s one of those few movies that really lingers in your psyche long after you’ve seen it.  Also, I admire the fact that the heroine is broken yet strong, isn’t dolled up or pining over a man.  It’s refreshing.  Like Bridesmaids.

This is what I’ve been watching, like a true addict, as virtually every character on it is so loveable (except Mark…he’s boring), and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and comfortable.  Something had to fill the Dexter and Modern Family void.  It’s funny because I had a preconceived notion about this show and never thought I would give it a chance.  I thought it would be shallow – another show about nothing, trying to mimic The Office.  I was wrong.  Book by its cover and all.  I particularly love Ron Swanson, Tom, April and of course Leslie.  Also, I have a crush on Andy (shhhh, don’t tell my boyfriend)!   It’s the perfect balance of satirical, dork humor and heart.  It’s good laughter people.

I have lot’s to catch up on my friends.  I’ve got exciting European tales and a Miami culinary tour post to write.  For now though, because first thing’s first, here’s what I have been creating in my kitchen these last few months…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where to Begin

  1. Michelle

    Since you said you are obsessed with ‘Another Earth’… Did you like the musical saw scene in it? You can hear music from it on the composer’s website http://www.scottmunsonmusic.com/news/music-in-film-another-earth-soundtrack/

Leave a Reply

