Eat, Memory

I love that we are finally on the brink of fall and that the promise of sweaters, socks on my feet and sleeping with open windows is in the air.  It may still be in the 90’s this week but last night gave me a comforting preview of  fall and assured me that it will be here soon.  I will miss corn on the cob – (I made a bangin’ succotash the other day with some corn, bacon, basil, edamame, grape tomatoes and squash), fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce, fresh basil, grilling and most of all, peaches.  But I will happily welcome the return of hearty ragus, butternut squash and bread pudding.  I’m meeting my parents at Crook’s Corner for dinner tonight, for one of the last late summer meals out.  One last mojito outdoors and perhaps maybe some red snapper or bbq ribs…

The other night, I discovered “Easy Plateau” – wood-fired pizza with swiss chard, goat cheese, ground beef and fingerling potatoes, at Sticks & Stones, and it was surprising and perfect.  This morning, I finally discovered Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations.  I don’t know what took me so long.  With my affinity for both food and travel, it’s about time I gave this a watch.  If he ever gets tired of all that traveling and eating, I’ll gladly step in for him.

Right now I have an obsession with vintage tumbler & high ball glasses and my granny has been sending me the most beautiful vintage aprons in the mail.  I just love that.  I started a new book –  a collection of food essays by several different authors and personalities and it’s called Eat, Memory. I like how reading about the powerful sense-memory impact food has and people’s different associations with it.

I’m also excited about the latest addition to the kitchen – a brand new Cuisinart Ice Cream maker!  My boyfriend is pretty amazing.  We’ve made strawberry sour cream ice cream and peach ice cream so far.  Both were awesome but the peach was sublime.  Next up, I plan to make some salted caramel and buttermilk ice creams and I plan to consult David Lebovitz’s ice cream cookbook.  What a fun toy.

I know that I have yet to do a restaurant recap of all my summer travel ventures, and trust me, that is on the horizon and it won’t be forgotten.  For now, I’d like to share some of my favorite pictures from this summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

