Embracing the Rhubarb

Spring is finally here and I can’t tell you how excited I am about the following things…

  • Bradford Pear Trees, Cherry Blossoms, hydrangeas and honeysuckle
  • STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE.  And not with any of this biscuit nonsense.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love biscuits, like most people, especially being a southerner (it’s practically mandatory).  I might be a touch old fashioned and stubborn on this one, but strawberry shortcake to me, has and will always be pound cake or some light, fluffy equivalent (I don’t mean angel food cake either).  Real cake.  Real whipped cream.  Farm fresh strawberries.  Hold the biscuit for my scrambled eggs and bacon, thank you.
  • Ordering Edna Lewis’ book, finally, because it too is mandatory for spring and summer I think.  I’m excited about making one of her recipes, especially since my mom had the opportunity to interview her when she used to work for the Associated Press.
  • Magnolia Bakery’s banana pudding and sneaking back to the bowl of it in the refrigerator, every five minutes to take another spoonful because it is just that good.
  • Grilling and making this recipe again.
  • Homemade pizza with fresh pesto, grilled chicken, fresh peach slices, caramelized onions and provelone cheese.
  • Eating outside, at Crook’s Corner.
  • Mojitos and more gin & tonics with extra lime, yes please.
  • Vanilla custard concretes with raspberries and blackberries, from Goodberry’s.
  • Making strawberry basil lemonade.
  • Open windows and bare feet.

On another note, I must share that I just made some tuna salad and tried something new.  My mom suggested I mix some balsamic vinegar with the mayo and then mix it in with the tuna and add some raisins, which is exactly what I did.  I also added some crumbled walnuts and diced apple and it was such a refreshing change.  I think I’ll make it like this for awhile (until I get sick of it again).

I’m also excited to bake with some rhubarb, which I’ve never done before.  I’ve never been that partial to it, because while I liked the strawberry reminiscent flavor, the celery-like appearance and texture never quite hooked me.  However, I’ve decided I just haven’t given it enough of a chance and that I should just go ahead and embrace the rhubarb.

Time to take the pups to the park and get some sunshine on this pretty day.  I’ll leave you with a few songs to get you in the mood for spring…

  • Rave On – M. Ward, featuring Zooey Deschanel
  • Blue Sky- Jason Collett
  • Hummingbird – Wilco
  • Sweet Pea – Amos Lee
  • Some other Spring – Billie Holiday
  • Korean Dogwood – Devendra Banhart
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

