Little Musings

Some little things I have been enjoying lately…

  • The cup of English tea (nothing fancy – PG Tips) and fresh double chocolate chip hazelnut biscotti that is accompanying it as I type this.
  • Nick Drake
  • Sour cream coffee cake, fresh out of the oven and HOT CROSS BUNS from the bakery where I work – they are truly heavenly.
  • Modern Family and the Spilled Milk podcast, because they make me laugh tremendously
  • The Food Network’s new show, “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”
  • Hot Yoga.  Why I (and anyone else for that matter) would voluntarily choose to subject themselves to 90 minutes of strenuous stretching and poses in an 105 degree room, crowded with half-naked people who are literally dripping sweat from head to toe, for an entire 90 minutes is beyond me. It is the hardest thing I’ve ever done (so far).  However, I went again today (my second time) and walking out of that studio and into the refreshing cool spring evening, and the way I felt afterwards, my skin glowing and feeling empowered and new made it worth every minute.  I find myself wanting to go back very soon (if my poor joints allow it)!
  • How lovely the weather has been lately, the bradford pear trees in bloom and the fact that I can wear flip flops again and liberate my happy toes and feet.
  • The song “Where the Road Meets the Sun” – by Katie Herzig and Matthew Perryman Jones
  • I am excited about the idea of visiting the farmer’s market, grilling, eating outside, going strawberry picking, and making crumbles, cobblers, crisps and pies and very soon.  I absolutely love spring and summer recipes.  I can’t wait for peach season, corn on the cob, blackberries and cherries.  I long for this time of year, especially since I don’t live in California or France and don’t have access to a farmer’s market all year-round.  It’s hard enough trying to find wild-caught fish around here!  This is totally the kind of thing that sells me the most on moving to Europe.  I’d do it in a heartbeat, just for the markets.
  • Homemade pizza with prosciutto, fresh mozzarella and caramelized red onions – (thank you Ree Drummond).  This is my new favorite pizza.  Really, it’s amazing.  I also adore Ree’s sense of humor and her shameless love for good (not necessarily so healthy) food.  Her blog is one of my favorites and I love her step by step photo tutorials she posts with each recipe.  She’s a cool chick.

Now it’s time to do some flipping (through my boyfriend’s old issues of Gourmet, Food and Wine, and Bon Appetit).  Can I just say how awesome I think it is that he even has these in his possession?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Little Musings

  1. Lauren

    I love homemade pizza… yum. sounds like you’ve been busy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

