Give me Cinnamon

I’m an odd one, people.  I don’t care for bananas, in fact, I loathe even the smell of them, yet I love banana pudding, banana cream pie and banana bread.  Don’t ask me why, I told you (I’m odd).  Now, I can say I love Molly Wizenberg’s banana bread with chocolate and cinnamon too.  So much in fact, I had to blog about it right after making it – I couldn’t resist.  The house still smells heavenly.

Let me tell you, I was impressed from the start.  I was in the mood to bake something, was dying to finally try a recipe of Molly’s (technically this is not her recipe, she adapted it after finding it somewhere else, but I found it on her blog, so that’s close enough for me), and I wanted something easy.  To say this was easy would be an understatement.  This was one of the most effortless tasks I’ve ever pursued in the kitchen.  It requires no whisk, no mixer, no separation of dry and wet ingredients.  The most amazing thing, is that all of the magic happened in the confines of a single mixing bowl – that’s it!  Not to mention, one can’t allow themselves to feel guilty over eating this treat, because it only has 2 eggs, no butter or other fats, and a reasonable amount of sugar.  And, there are three bananas, so you are getting your fruit ; )

As I was mashing the bananas, I couldn’t help but wrinkle up my nose in distaste over the smell (since as I said before, I loathe the smell of them).  However, once the blissful fusion of cinnamon, chocolate and bananas began wafting from the oven and over to the computer, where I was sitting, I knew I was in for an extraordinary treat.  My olfactory senses were tantalized and that beautiful, warm smelling cinnamon was more than enough to compensate for the less than favorable banana stench earlier.

Alas, upon opening the oven after precisely 35 minutes, the bread had boastfully risen, evenly, yielding a soft and fluffy cake-like bread with a nice crunch from the cracked sugar and cinnamon topping.  It was quite beautiful.  (Ignore the random white spots of sugar in my photo – it dispersed much better than it looks).


Banana Bread with Chocolate and Cinnamon Sugar

(Adapted by Molly Wizenberg)

3 very ripe bananas (the size doesn’t much matter; medium to large works)
2 large eggs
1 ½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

For topping:
2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Butter or spray an 8-inch square pan.

In a medium mixing bowl, mash the bananas well with a fork or potato masher. Add the eggs, and stir well to combine. Add the flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and vanilla, and stir to mix. Add ¾ cup of the chocolate chips, and stir briefly. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and set aside.

In a small bowl, stir together the topping ingredients. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the batter in the pan, and top with the remaining ¼ cup chocolate chips.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool in the pan on a wire rack for at least 15 minutes before serving.

*copied from Molly Wizenberg’s blog, Orangette*

 

 

I could imagine this tasting wonderful cold as well, on a summer’s afternoon, as Molly describes, but I think I prefer it warm, exploding chocolate chips and fragrantly warm cinnamon.  Mmmmm…this is enough to dream about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes & Breads

Leave a Reply

