Holla for Challah Bread

No haven’t converted to Judaism.  I’ve just been on a huge French toast kick lately and feel the need to express to you my undying love for challah bread.

In the past, (the few times I actually made French toast myself), I just used sourdough – which I love, don’t get me wrong.  While I love this bread, it’s a touch too overwhelming for French toast.  I prefer it for savory purposes.

Then I discovered this recipe, after watching an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, and somehow figured I would introduce myself to challah bread for the first time (substituting it for the Texas toast), and then, fate was sealed…it was love. This bread is the perfect thickness, softness and sweetness for French toast, and also has the perfect consistency for absorbing (and holding up) the eggy batter.  Not to mention, it’s a beautiful bread.  I’d love to make it myself sometime this year – it’s certainly on my list of epicurean ventures to tackle over the course of 2010.

Uh oh…have I become a french toast snob?  By no means am I a bread connoisseur.   I somehow (stubbornly, I’ll admit), feel no need to use any other bread when making french toast, except maybe brioche (which I have yet to try).  I am open to any recommendations, but would be surprised to find anything that can hold a candle to the challah.This French toast is amazing, and remains one of my favorites.  Don’t let the captain crunch cereal deter you.  Even if you’ve never been a fan of it (like myself), make it anyway, if you adore French toast that is, because you will not regret it.  This recipe will barely be readable from all the butter and maple syrup stains that will accumulate on it, it is that good, it bares much repeating.  And you should ditch the Texas toast and befriend some challah instead.

I’ve also made Smitten Kitchen’s Boozy Baked French Toast with it, and can’t wait to try this recipe over the next couple days…

Oh challah bread, how I do adore thee…

We’ll see if the recipe amounts to the stunning, mouth-watering, presumably sugar-coma inducing, cinnamon roll resembling photo.  I’ll let you know in a few days, and also tell you about a chicken with 40 cloves of garlic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

