Turn Loose

Sometimes you just have to have your power go out for two days (and counting) to motivate yourself to finally sit down and blog. Sometimes you have to wait until noon for coffee, and trudge out in nasty winter slosh for homefries and a biscuit the size of your head, and get your socks drenched and crash at friends’ houses. And sometimes you have to reconcile that those bananas you were waiting ever so patiently for to gracefully reach the perfect ripening point for making banana bread are probably gonna have to be tossed out. Espresso banana bread, you are still on my horizon, even if I am getting the runaround.

2014 has been a cold one so far, as winter just seems to refuse to release its stubborn grip on us, repeatedly (and inconveniently) giving us the proverbial middle finger. Turn us loose, winter! Several winter advisory warnings, one painful and embarrassing fall resulting in one big bruised elbow, lots of House of Cards episodes, and two days of cafe hopping and wifi mooching later, here I finally am. Blogging for the first time this year…and for myself no less! Between wedding planning and multiple jobs, it’s been a cold (albeit productive) new year! I’ve been contributing more regularly to FoodieCrush, which I love, and I’ve been continuing to blog for a sweet local restaurant and a couple wonderful local hotels. I like being busy, and I am excited for what the upcoming year holds. A lot of change, a lot of travels, new friends, and new opportunities. You can see some of the latest stuff I’ve done for Foodiecrush here and here.

Can I just say I’m kind of jealous of this little Union Square Green Market party going on right now (via Instagram), with Deb and Mimi and Nicole? So much beautiful creativity in such a concentrated location!

So for now, as I will away this winter, I will dream of wildflowers, open windows, rhubarb, asparagus, and sundresses, NYC in the springtime, and this strawberry supreme cake that I can’t stop thinking about. Oh, and I will certainly try to be a more devoted blogger. I promise. Here’s a little peek of what I’ve been up to so far this year…

A few of my favorite things…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Turn Loose

  1. foodiecrush

    XOXOXO and thank you for all of your amaze-balls work. Is that even cool to say anymore? Prob not, you’ll have to school me on what is.

Leave a Reply

