Bucket List

Right now:

Eating/Drinking a glass of rosé and  Panzanella salad that I just made with ingredients from the Union Square Green Market (cucumber, watermelon, baby heirloom tomatoes), feta from Whole Foods and Cuban bread from a generous baker I met on Saturday at the Fort Greene Market.

Listening to: Justin Townes Earle, Henry Wolfe, King Wilkie, The Love Language

Watching: The Newsroom.  I can’t get enough.

Reading: Really loved this Joy the Baker post, also reading (and loving) Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird

Learning:  How to be a reporter.  How to CONDENSE my writing (just not on my blog) and not be so verbose.  How to go beyond just being tenacious and how to hound people for fact checking purposes.

Missing: 

him…

her…

this…

My British friend Louisa (who is here for a year, also doing an internship) has created a “NYC Bucket List,” with things like “have breakfast at Tiffany’s,” “Be in a Woody Allen movie,” and my personal favorite, “drag a Christmas tree home like they do in the movies.” I find this concept completely endearing (and inspiring), so I have decided to make my own for the duration I’m living here…

NYC Bucket List (in no particular order)

  • Eat at BalthazarDi FaraLocanda Verde and Babbo
  • Bump into Maggie Gyllenhaal or Michelle Williams in Fort Greene/surrounding Brooklyn hoods, preferably while shopping (or working) at the Flea
  • Go to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens
  • Ice skate in Central Park
  • Write a feature for TONY
  • Take the East River ferry from my neighborhood into the city
  • Meet Chris Noth (he frequently works literally 150 feet away from me, on my street) so this shouldn’t be a terribly hard feat
  • Be an extra on Girls or watch them film a scene (also shouldn’t be too hard a feat since they too film right by my apartment)
  • Eat at a secret restaurant
  • See Sleep No More again!
  • Have the hot fudge sundae at Pearl Oyster Bar
  • Have the Devil’s food cake at The Dutch
  • See something while dining at Nitehawk Cinema
  • See something at BAM
  • Have noodles at 3am at the no name bar
  • Learn how to ask for bread in Polish, so I can negotiate a bargain with one of the Polish bakers outside The New Warsaw Bakery one of these late nights when I’m walking by and the wafting aroma of freshly baked bread becomes irresistible
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

